IFFL
Jun 19, 2005 4:07 PM | | ;
|
Thread to post observations, comments, game summary and analysis of this A league quarterfinal game.

|
| |
|
Jun 19, 2005 4:16 PM | | ; |
Score was Goin Deep 14 CCR NOVAs 13 at the half.
NOVAs made adjustments on defense in the second half, and Goin Deep could not make a defensive stop.

| |
|
porter
Jun 20, 2005 11:07 AM | | ; |
Another great game in what has been a fantastic IFFL tournament this year.
Goin` Deep came out smokin` with an unorthodox offense that had the NOVAs defense scratching their head trying to solve. The result was a sharp, quick drive and an early 7-0 lead. The NOVAs response was even quicker however, with a two play drive that covered 60 yards, the final 25 provided by RB Pete Angstadt on a nifty catch and run through about 6 GD defenders.
NOVAs linebacker Chris Mack then stymied another nice GD drive with an interception to hand the ball back over to CCR`s offense. Another quick drive and nice TD catch by their center made the score 13-7 after a missed XP.
GD`s O was back at it again on their next possesion, and another nice drive yielded a late 1st-half TD and a 14-13 halftime lead.
The NOVAs offense continued to click on the first drive of the second half. Utilizing short passes and some nice runs, CCR culminated the drive with a short touchdown pass to their center again. A successful two-point conversion was nullified by a holding call and the subsequent attempt from the 20 was batted down at the goal-line by the GD defender to keep the score at 19-14.
The NOVAs defense finally adjusted to GD`s run-oriented offense and forced the QB into making a bad decision. The resulting interception by Angstadt turned the ball back over to the NOVAs offense who quickly capitalized by scoring their fourth touchdown of the day. CCR converted the two-pointer on a nice pass to WR David Szczesniak to make the score 27-14 with just under two minutes to play.
With 15 seconds left in the game, confusion in the NOVAs secondary led to a long 60 yard GD touchdown, and a brief hope that a miraculous ending could be in the making. However, the ensuing on-sides kick recovery, after a perfectly placed kick by the GD kicker, was nullified by a penalty for interfering with a receiver trying to make a fair-catch and the NOVAs had survived another week.

| |
|
Jun 20, 2005 1:45 PM | | ; |
Smart play Mack.

| |
|
ons?
Jun 20, 2005 9:03 PM | | ; |
We don`t want to be a team that is going to bitch and complain about the refs, in fact we thought they have done a good job all year, and we think you guys do a great job running the league.
That being said we thought there were a number of questionable calls that went in CCR`s favor, and would specifically like to request explanation for two of the calls, which we feel were not clarified sufficiently.
1. The two-minute rule: CCR had the ball with 2:24, huddled and went to the line of scrimmage. The two-minute warning was then blown prior to the snap getting off. The refs then blew the whistle, and restarted the clock while CCR rehuddled, and let the clock run down to 1:40. Essentially allowing for a 44 second run-off. We were told by the refs that the clock does not stop at the 2 minute warning.
Rule as stated on the website:"Outside of team and official time-outs, the game clock runs continually from the kick-off preceding each half until the two minute warning."
2. The onside kick: It seemed the refs were unsure what to call, and basically let CCR make the call. Their final explanation was that even if the kicking team touches the ball first if the receiving team calls a fair catch he must be allowed the opportunity to catch the ball.
Rule as stated on the site: “If the kicking team (1) touches the ball before the receiving team after it hits the ground and has traveled 20 or more yards, or (2) catches the ball after the ball travels 20 or more yards, or (3) recovers a muff by the receiving team before it has hit the ground at any point...in any of these cases possession reverts to the kicking team at the point of touching.
Again we don`t want to be a team that is blaming the game on the refs, as our team needs to improve, and needs to make the plays to win the game. Though we do feel these were two pretty important plays that went in the wrong direction.
Please provide clarification.
Thanks,
Goin Deep

| |
|
Jun 20, 2005 9:23 PM | | ; |
"However, no player of the kicking team may interfere with the receiving team`s opportunity to catch the ball."
Sections 4 & 5 deal with called fair catches as well.
http://www.usffa.org/rulebook/r6.pdf
You don`t see it too often in this league, but the guy who signalled it in your game has been playing for quite a while.
~Tom

| |
|
mmish
Jun 20, 2005 10:02 PM | | ; |
I just want to help clarify:
The rule states the ball has to HIT THE GROUND and TRAVEL 20 YARDS before the kicking team is eligible to recover the ball. Your kickoff was kicked straight up in the air off the tee never hitting the ground.
I hope this helps clear up the interpretation of the rule. If you have further questions please give me a call.
703/371-4952
Thanks,
R

| |
|
mmish
Jun 20, 2005 10:02 PM | | ; |
I just want to help clarify:
The rule states the ball has to HIT THE GROUND and TRAVEL 20 YARDS before the kicking team is eligible to recover the ball. Your kickoff was kicked straight up in the air off the tee never hitting the ground.
I hope this helps clear up the interpretation of the rule. If you have further questions please give me a call.
703/371-4952
Thanks,
R

| |
|
ons
Jun 20, 2005 10:33 PM | | ; |
Tom,
I was not looking at the USFFA rulebook. I was looking at the rules on the IFFL site, which does not contain the verbiage "However, no player of the kicking team may interfere with the receiving team`s opportunity to catch the ball."
If the IFFL is silent on the rule, does the USFFA rule book take precedence?
If so I guess "Oppurtunity to Catch a Kick" covers the call made.
Rob,
Part 2 says "or(2) catches the ball after the ball travels 20 or more yards"
To me this is not stating that you have to let it hit the ground?
How about the 2 minute question?
Thanks guys!!!

| |
|
on
Jun 20, 2005 11:00 PM | | ; |
I am interested in the two minute rule also.It seems to be the refs discretion as to let the clock run or not.I saw once instance where the clock was stopped and didn`t restart until the snap and then I was in a game where the two minute warning was given and the clock continued to run.Also, for xp and field goals - does the ball have to be on a block.One call was that when the ball was put on the ground - it was ruled dead, but this past weekend I saw a team kick off the ground.

| |
|
QB
Jun 20, 2005 11:01 PM | | ; |
Goin` Deep-
Congratulations on executing a great game plan and playing us tough to the end. For what it`s worth we agree that it doesn`t seem right to run the clock after the two minute warning`s been called. Tom/Rob, what`s the rule book say regarding this rule?
As far as the onside kick, we specifically asked the referees before the kick whether the kicking team had to give us the opportunity to catch the ball if we called a "fair catch." We wanted the clarification because we`ve actually seen it called both ways and wanted to know how we should react to the kickoff. The refs told us that if the ball is kicked directly in the air we could call for a fair catch and the kicking team would have to give us the opportunity to field it cleanly. If this had not been the case, we would have gone much more aggressively after the kick. Not to say that you wouldn`t have touched it first, but we definitely wouldn`t have sat idly by while one guy tried to field it like we did.
Good game again and we`ll see you next year!

| |
|
mmish
Jun 21, 2005 7:17 AM | | ; |
As far as the 2 minute rule on the clock. It really depends on your game situation. In the middle of a drive if the two minute warning comes, the 2 minute warning is given, and on the SET-UP of the ensuing play (usually indicated by an official`s whistle) the clock begins. Under two-minutes the clock will NOT STOP again until the ball is declared dead.
Now in another situation if you have a change of a possession, i.e. score, interception, turnover on downs and the 2 minute warning is given during that time, then the clock does NOT begin again until the SNAP of the next play.
If you have any further questions please don`t hesitate to contact me.
Rob 703/371-4952
BTW: Great use of the msg board. I appreciate it!

| |
|
ons?
Jun 21, 2005 9:39 AM | | ; |
Rob,
If the clock continues to run, does the play clock reset as well?
If so this allows a 50 second runoff.

| |
|
|