Messageboard
 subject: "recap"
player

Nov 16, 2008
3:30 PM

;
Anyone have an update on the "A" games today?

yes

Nov 16, 2008
3:58 PM
; 
Rhinos win it all!!!!

yes

Nov 16, 2008
3:58 PM
; 
Rhinos won it all!!!!

yeah

Nov 16, 2008
3:58 PM
; 
the refs did everything to give the rhinos the championship and it worked by far the worst game of officiating i have ever seen. It was horrible and i think the rhinos would agree.

visitor

Nov 16, 2008
4:44 PM
; 
Good job Rhinos!

What???

Nov 16, 2008
4:48 PM
; 
Please give it a rest about the refs giving any team a championship. From what I saw, close calls negatively impacted the Rhinos (took away a TD and INT) as much as Pitbulls.

Official

Nov 16, 2008
5:30 PM
; 
TO YEAH…You should realize we don’t care who wins or looses these games. It also amazing that every time there is close game the officials take the blame can’t you guy’s just step up and look at your self for once.
We didn’t take away anything such as a TD in the Rhinos game; the Rhinos created a foul which resulted in losing the result of the play. That is there fault!! We are just there to administer the rules of the game period.
Example: Recently I received a long email about an officiated game and how the crew had lost the game for them. One thing the coach failed to mention was that his QB had thrown 6 intersections, but he really wanted to blame the officiating crew on three judgment calls.
See all of you at the state as then you will be able to judge the officiating from other parts of the state. Good luck to all our teams in the state.



re: Official

Nov 16, 2008
6:01 PM
; 
what "intersections" did he manage to throw? I would definitley expect the intersection of Stringfellow and Fair Lakes would be a problem. Give`em hell though we all know that you guys are 100% perfect in play calling as well.

yeah again

Nov 16, 2008
6:23 PM
; 
i didnt say the officals won the game for them but they sure did help and the TD that called back they gave tem an extra play to kick a field goal which should not have happened and what bout that pass interference call that led to thier first touthdown??? they sucked and thats the bottom line

To Official

Nov 16, 2008
6:43 PM
; 
We pay to play in this league and we expect the right calls to be made. Every player and ref makes mistakes but all the players ask of the refs is to know the rules they are paid to enforce. The bad thing about the field goal mentioned above was it was kicked from the spot of the foul. No yardage was marked off for the penalty. Had to be there to understand what Im talking about. Another thing that might help is if the players knew the rules. This is not the NFL or NCAA it is Va flag football. Good game Rhinos. I certainly would not give anything back.

Rhinos Coach

Nov 16, 2008
7:26 PM
; 
I don`t want to get into a discussion about the refs or the calls that were/were not made, but I think we can all agree our kicker`s 50+ yard field goal was impressive.

Good game to the Wolves and Pitbulls.

re: Rhino`s Coach

Nov 16, 2008
7:40 PM
; 
If you don`t want to get into a discussion about flag football than SHUT YOUR PIE HOLE Gomer.

Good game to all Playoff teams.

Player

Nov 16, 2008
8:49 PM
; 
I will say this. This season has had the most inconsistantly called games that I have ever been a part of. This by far was the worst season ever for officiating. Close games or not.

Official

Nov 16, 2008
10:41 PM
; 
Know the rules players..
What they did by "giving another play" was correct by rule 3.2.art3. I would bet the coaches don`t know the different rule(s) we will be playing by in the state? So guys brush up on your national/state rules.


To Official

Nov 17, 2008
6:00 AM
; 
See there you go again as a mighty ref you don`t have to read or listen. I did`nt say the call was wrong what i`m saying is there was no yardage for the flag thrown. Ball was spotted and kicked from where the foul occured. Unless downfield blocking isn`t a ten yard penalty from the spot. Now.

To official

Nov 18, 2008
7:09 AM
; 
I certainly hope that it was not an official who replied about the knowing the rules because as it clearly states in the rule book. (rule 3 section 2 article 3) If team A commits a foul, or if both teams commit fouls, the period is not extended. Team A (Rhinos) were in possession. Almost every call in flag is a judgment call but the enforcement of the penalty is not. So not only should the players brush up but a few officials may want to brush up. Congrats to the Rhinos and wish everyone luck at states.

to official

Nov 18, 2008
9:23 AM
; 
The clock had expired...the half was OVER. The Rhinos were in possession of the ball and committed a foul. The ball gets placed 10 yards back from the spot of the foul. BUT, because the Rhinos were guilty of the penalty...THE HALF WAS OVER. There is no way they should have been given an untimed down at the end of that half. That`s not a judgement call, thats not knowing the rules...complete joke.

Nice kick, though...very impressive

scorekeeper

Nov 18, 2008
9:45 AM
; 
so if the officials had gotten the calls right on that play, the score at halftime would`ve been 21-0.

scorekeeper 2

Nov 18, 2008
9:55 AM
; 
Take away the field goal and the Rhinos stil win 21 to 19.

to scorekeeper

Nov 18, 2008
10:26 AM
; 
the point in not the out come its they got the wrong call it could have cost someone the game true we still had to get the 2 point conversion and didnt but the call was still wrong....it would be nice to have officals know the rules thats what i am mad about...

Anal Retentive Gambler

registered poster


Nov 18, 2008
1:07 PM
; 
WHAAAAAAA!! We should have only lost 21 to 19...

WHAAAAAAA!! That FG took our momentum...

WHAAAAAAA!! The refs gave the game to the Rhinos..

WHAAAAAAA!!

Anything else Pitbulls? Why don`t you grow up and get a set? Even if the refs did blow the call, that amounted to 10 seconds and 3 points. So who do blame for the other 39 minutes and 21 points?

Class is so hard to come by these days... especially when I got it all. Congrats Army on One Hundred. When you get the squad down to 50, I`ll have you all out on the yacht. (Maritime regulations...)



To ARG

Nov 18, 2008
1:14 PM
; 
We probably still would have lost but to have the Refs get on the board and tell us we need to know the rules when in fact they don`t is garbage. It happens every week and is complete baloney. We and other teams are just asking for consistency. By the way you can take that whaaaa and shove it up ur azz. I wear number 56 for the Sharks if u wanna come play moron!

AHH

Nov 18, 2008
1:52 PM
; 
ARG, where ya been? Refs make bad calls all the time, live with it. Season is over, move on and get ready for States(If you are playing) and the Spring. Hell of a kick though, geesh.

sharks red bandana

Nov 18, 2008
3:16 PM
; 
is a ****! always crying about something. Sharks are very good team no need for all the crying...play football and dry the eyes! whaaaa-whaaaa

Hey #56

Nov 18, 2008
5:29 PM
; 
if you think the refs got on here and told you the rules to pay attention to, then you are a FEWL!! This board is notorious for imposters. The "ref" was someone from within your team.

Pitbulls #3 Usually, but #8 on Sunday

Nov 18, 2008
5:54 PM
; 
Yo, good game Rhinos! They made the plays when we didn`t! I believe the fact is that the call was incorrect. That`s all, no one`s taking anything from Rhinos, they WON we didn`t plain and simple! I think that call took a bit out of us but we shouldn`t had put ourselves in that position anyway! So when it`s all said and done, everyone makes mistakes and take the good with the bad. See you all at the Turkey Bowl, and you know us Sharks are going to States and Nationals, just hope we can represent for Fairfax flag! (It`s Tyson-Sharks #1 for anyone making comments!) Good luck to everyone this coming weekend and for those going to states and nationals!

Pitbulls #3 Usually, but #8 on Sunday

Nov 18, 2008
5:57 PM
; 
Yeah, and Josh; you need to get in the league cuz that was NFL type **** with that kick before the half!!

Ok

Nov 18, 2008
6:07 PM
; 
I was not at the game Sunday that is in question but I will say that the quality of officiating as a whole this season was down from seasons past. There were tons of missed calls, some mattered and some ultimately did not. I`ll let those who played Sunday decide if the FG mattered in who won the game. From what I read it sounded like the Rhinos, offense, had a penalty on the last play of the half and were given another play. Another example of the refs being confused/ wrong.

The rule is that if the offense commits a penalty on the last play of a half the result of the play does not count and the half/ game is over. However, if the defense commits a penalty and the offense chooses to accept the penalty they get an untimed down and the reult of that play counts. That`s football 101 and the rule at any level and I doubt that the IFFL/ States/ Nationals would be called different.

But ultimately calls like this are part of the game. I think the bigger problem is that the refs are so quick to make a call and if they are wrong or there a question they don`t take the time to explain the rule of confer with each other to make sure the call was correct. I mean god forbid the game take 62 minutes...

To Official

Nov 18, 2008
6:18 PM
; 
I doubt you are a ref but if you are then you completly misread the rule you quoted, 3.2.3. "Ok" is right and the fact that you interpreted the rule that way proves that you have no idea what you are talking about have a clue about what calls you are making. Again, I dout that you are a real ref though.

Here is

Nov 18, 2008
8:00 PM
; 
what happened...

Rhinos picked off a pass on the last play of the half and ran it back for a TD. However, the Rhinos were called for downfield blocking. Pitbulls accepted the penalty (so no TD for Rhinos) but Rhinos got an untimed down with which they kicked the 50+ yard field goal.

HEAD OFFICIAL

Nov 18, 2008
9:45 PM
; 
TO ALL:
You guys are unreal. You have no idea on how to read a rule book and it so obvious that you have never read the rule book.BASIC 101 football rule BOOK READING.
Remember Offense is TEAM A Defense is TEAM B
(see Rule 2 sec 23 art 1)
THEN apply Rule 3 Sec 2 art 3. committed foul was TEAM B so therefore the PERIOD is extended!!! The flag book says nothing about accepting or declining a penalty like in tackle football for purpose of extending the period.
It continues to never amaze me after lots of years how players can continually never look at them self and say what we should have done better as a team to win the game. It’s much easier by human nature to look some else for blame.
GOOD LUCK IN STATE BUSH UP ON STATE/NATIONAL RULES



To head official

Nov 18, 2008
10:03 PM
; 
The foul was committed by the offense(team A) so maybe you should have the facts before you place blame.I think blocking down field is an offense penalty. Played many years and never seen a defense penalty for blocking down field!!!The foul was called on the Rhinos and that is BASIC 101 Football head official!!!!

huh

Nov 18, 2008
10:10 PM
; 
I thought the team with the ball was on offense. After an INT, isn`t it a change of possesions?

With the play in question, if the Rhinos was returning the INT and the Pitbulls held him. Then I`d see an untimed down. But if it`s a Rhinos penalty, the half should be over.

Yo

Nov 18, 2008
10:20 PM
; 
Once Team B, Rhinos in this case, intercepted the ball they became Team A, the offensive team. So I say again, a penalty on the offense does NOT extend the half or game by one play. TD does not count (that`s all you said that is correct) and the half is over. Get it right "HEAD OFFICIAL".

As far as accepting or declining the penalty. Unless it is a dead ball foul the other team always has the option to accept or decline the penalty. Or at least they should if the refs know what they are doing. Just b/c this is flag football it doesn`t mean that all the traditional football rules go out the window.

the real deal

Nov 19, 2008
2:12 PM
; 
screw all that missed call crap! the real story of that game was Sharks WR, I think it`s Tyson? almost stealing that game by himself. the rhinos were whipping some ass the whole first half and that dude took a 5 yard pass on the first play after halftime to the house to get the Sharks back in it. the Rhinos are inside the 20 ready to put them away late in the game and the same dude jumps a route and gets an 80-yard pick six. rhinos killed the clock for the win but that dude was SICK!!!!

Rhinos Coach

Nov 19, 2008
3:01 PM
; 
100% agree that Tyson played a great game. Both he and Greg, our WR/safety who scored all three of our TDs, took turns making big plays!

Head Official

Nov 19, 2008
4:50 PM
; 
TO Yo and TO HEAD OFFICIAL Commits
It again is so obvious that reading a rule book is out of the question for you guys.
I’m really trying my best to help and correct you guys. Team A Sharks started out at the snap as TEAM A Rhions started out at the snap as TEAM B.
Rule 2. sec 23 art1 Team A is the team which puts the ball in play. The opponent of Team A, the team which does not put the ball in play, is Team B.
Rule basic is if you start out as Team A and TEAM B you do not change DURING THE DOWN!

HS FEDERATION does matter if a foul is accepted or declined for extending the period.
CLOCK RUNS OUT IN 2ND period TEAM A fouls and result of the play TEAM A scored a TD. Therefore team B would accept the penalty and untimed down would occur. BUT in flag the period would NOT be extended. FEDERATION: If TEAM B intercepted the ball and during the run block in the back occurs result of the play is TD by TEAM B. TEAM A would accept the penalty and a untimed down would occur.
Rule 2 sec 43 art 4 TEAM DESIGNATIONS (A AND B, K and R) are retained until the ball is next marked for play.


Observer

Nov 19, 2008
5:35 PM
; 
I was reading through this thread and thought the Head Official was wrong but after this last post I`m now leaning the officials way.

Yo

Nov 19, 2008
5:46 PM
; 
Head Official, the more you try to explain yourself or interpret the rule(s) the more it`s clear that you don`t belong as an official. Team A designates offense and Team B designates defense once the ball is put in play.

Once the ball was intercepted (possession change) Rhinos became Team A and Sharks became Team B. Common since tells you that. Maybe Tom needs to amend the rule and add that for clarification.

Based on your thinking the team that is on offense when the ball is snapped is always Team A and the team that is on defense when the ball is snapped is always Team B reguardless if a change of possession occurs. By "always" I mean until the timed down is over. That`s for the refs that ride the short bus to the games. Explain to me how a defensive team (Team B/ Rhinos) could be called for blocking down field or flag guarding then. (At this point I can`t remember what the Rhinos were penalized for)

Bottom line is that once there is a change in possession durring a single timed down the Team A and Team B designations switch.

logic

Nov 19, 2008
6:34 PM
; 
I`ll admit that I haven`t read the rule book but logic dictates that you can`t get a downfield blocking penalty if you`re on defense. Isn`t downfield blocking an offensive foul? If that`s the rule than it needs to be updated.

TO YO

Nov 19, 2008
6:52 PM
; 
Hey YO do you even have a rule book? If yes have you ever looked at it? How long have you been playing?

TO: Logic

Nov 19, 2008
7:18 PM
; 
Well here is the link to the rule book. http://www.usffa.org/rulebook.htm

HEAD OFFICIAL

Nov 19, 2008
7:52 PM
; 
TO YO
HAVE YOU EVER READ A RULE BOOK?
RULE BOOKS SOMETIME DON`T HAVE LOGIC!!!
TRY THIS ONE MORE TIME!!
Rule 2 sec 43 art 4 TEAM DESIGNATIONS (A AND B, K and R) are retained until the ball is next marked for play.
Maybe let`s try a different rule for your knowledge.
team a/k kicks the ball to team b/r after the catch team b/r becomes team A/k yes or no?
state flag rule: Let`s try one more: team a wide out is "chucked” 10 ylds down field before the pass is thrown and the finally the pass is thrown to the other wide out who is wide open but drops the pass. Is their any foul if so what is the foul and enforcement.



Observer

Nov 19, 2008
7:56 PM
; 
hey Yo!

If you start a down out as team A you will end the down as team A even if you intercept.

If team A intercepts the ball they do not turn into Team B

Hope this helps....

Yo

Nov 19, 2008
8:29 PM
; 
I have skimmed through most of it over the past 4 seasons and in this case I have read the sections that pertain to the case in point. The fact of the matter is that the "Head Official`s" interpretation of the rule is wrong.

Let me give you a different hypothetic scenario based on what the officail is saying... Team A leads Team B by 1 point. Team B calls a timeout with 3 seconds to go in the game and forces Team A to run one more play. Team A (offense) snaps the ball and their QB decides to throw the ball (remember this is hypothetical) and it is picked off by Team B and returned for a TD. But wait during the return Team B is called for flag guarding at Team A`s 10 yard line. By this time the clock has run out and the game is over. Not so fast my friend. Based on what Head Official is saying Team B gets to run one untimed offensive play even though they were the team that committed penalty. They decide to kick a FG. They make it and Team B wins the game by 2.

Head Official, how would you rule this play?

visitor

Nov 19, 2008
10:54 PM
; 
So the fact the blocking penalty occured before the TD and may have helped team whoever score does not mean a thing? That does not make sense to give the other team an extra play.

Visitor

Nov 20, 2008
8:50 AM
; 
IF you guys are really players in IFFL call Tom and he will get with the Head Official.

why?

Nov 20, 2008
9:07 AM
; 
why are officials answering to players anyhow? Isn`t it their job to stick with the calls on the field and that`s that? I think Tom should take a better look at how unprofessional the Refs are in the league, and maybe thats where the bad calls start. I dont know, just dont think refs need to be on the message board. Make a ref message board and let them gripe about how much we complain by themselves.

visitor

Nov 20, 2008
9:40 AM
; 
Yo

You are correct with your play, team b would have the period extended and get a chance to kick a field goal.

I am not sure what you are confused with?

TOM
admin


Nov 20, 2008
9:53 AM
; 
I had promised the Officials a Q&A forum on the site where they could interact with the players and coaches, and its finally set up. If you are a logged in player or coach, you`ll see a new link in the messageboard dropdown tab.

Use that forum for Q&A. I am going to register some of the officials this morning so they can also access that forum and respond.

I am going to move this thread to that forum.

players and officials who wish to continue this discussion, please do so in that forum

TOM

© 2009-2025 leaguehouse.com