Messageboard
subject: "To Rob, Tom Rule clarification
"
FC No. 8
May 14, 2006 9:57 AM | | ;
|
Rob, Tom:
At the Fighting Chickens v. Outlaws game today at 8:00 a.m. at Hook Road, with :29 left in the game, and being down 14-13, the Fighting Chickens elected to go for a two-point conversion by running the ball from the 3-yard line.
The head referee would not allow us to go for two from the three. He said we had to either kick from the three-yard line, or run or pass from the ten.
In the "Playing Rules" section of this website, the rules clearly state that running for two from the three-yard line is an option. I informed the head referee of this, and he said I was wrong, and said we had to make a choice immediately.
After the game, the referee unsuccessfully attempted to call Rob on his cell phone to discuss our dispute.
At this point, I would at least like a clarification as to whether or not this rule posted on the website will be adhered to.
Thanks.
|
| |
|
Witness
May 15, 2006 8:56 AM | | ; |
The refs that game had NO idea about any of the rules of football. They were just there to collect a paycheck. Lots of blown calls on both sides. Shame the game had to be ended that way, both teams played their hearts out and its a shame to see the refs have so much influence over the outcome.
| |
|
Rob-Commish
May 15, 2006 8:57 AM | | ; |
The clarification is 2pts run from the 3 yd line. Kick is 1 pt from the 3 yrd line. From the 10yd line run/pass is 2 pts. You cannot kick from the 10 yd line and it equate to 2 pts. Sorry for the confusion amongst the officials, I will clear this up this week.
| |
|
Chicken-21
May 15, 2006 9:02 AM | | ; |
Well, that sucks for us.
Good game Outlaws.
| |
|
Additional Info
May 15, 2006 9:33 AM | | ; |
Rob,
Can you still go for 2 from the 3 yrd line, but end up throwing it for 1 pt?
| |
|
Rob-Commish
May 15, 2006 11:21 AM | | ; |
If you throw a forward pass from the 3 yd line it will equate to 1pt. If you run it in from the 3 yd line it will equate to 2 pts. If you run/pass from the 10 yd line it will equate to 2pts.
Thanks!
| |
|
skinny
May 15, 2006 12:28 PM | | ; |
I know its probably too late to do anything about it now, but in said situation, when the referees were clearly wrong on the rules, and their error had a clear effect on the outcome of the game (ie: the Chickens almost certainly would have tried to run it from the 3 for the 2 point conversion, had the referees correctly ruled that this was an option), is there any retribution? I would like to file an official "game under protest" motion.
Besides that, it was a great game- well played by both sides, and much credit to the Outlaws for a job well done.
| |
|
Refs
May 15, 2006 2:34 PM | | ; |
Tip of the hat to any ref that does know the rules, but in general don`t count on the refs to understand the rules. Just hope that they let you play and that they don`t pretend to know the rules (as some of them do and dirupt the rythm flow of the game).
| |
|
question
May 15, 2006 3:35 PM | | ; |
Why doesn`t the head ref carry a rulebook, that way if there is any dispute they can point it out on paper. Only in close games where a ref not knowing the rule could change the outcome of the game though.
| |
|
observer
May 16, 2006 10:58 AM | | ; |
I think the league should get the Chickens and the Outlaws together again and pick the game up from the 2 point conversion attempt. The Chickens would get one untimed down from the three yard-line, for a chance to run it in for the 2 point conversion, or throw a pass for the tie. If successful, the Chickens would have to kick-off to the Outlaws, and play would resume for the last few seconds on the clock. This is the only way to make up for the referees mistake.
What sya the league to that?
| |
|
To observer
May 16, 2006 11:04 AM | | ; |
Are you serious? You`re suggesting a Do Over?
| |
|
Hah
May 16, 2006 11:07 AM | | ; |
Dude the game is over. Its just a regular season game. Both teams should be in the playing in the playoffs anyhow
| |
|
addtnl clarification
May 16, 2006 11:13 AM | | ; |
I know this seems unlikely but just in case.
*qb in the shotgun takes the snap
*shovel pass to rb, both players are still behind the line of scrimmage
*rb then throws a backward lateral to wr who runs it in. all 3 players are still behind the line of scrimmage during the play.
My take on this is that since there`s one forward pass involved, it counts as 1pt. If there`s no foward pass involved it counts as 2pts.
thanks
| |
|
FC No. 8
May 16, 2006 2:04 PM | | ; |
To additional clarification:
Under the USFFA rules, in the scenario you gave, that would be a one point conversion. It does not matter that the forward pass was behind the line of scrimmage.
And I`m not sure a re-do would really be fair to the Outlaws. The Chickens will make the A playoffs anyway, so that call won`t make a difference to the season.
| |
|
Refs
May 18, 2006 10:14 PM | | ; |
Refs should definitely bring their rule book to the game. But they don`t do that.
| |
|
|
|