Messageboard
 subject: "Rule Clarifications"
Hokie #2

May 07, 2008
7:16 AM

;
Since lots of people have been disputing the exact rules of the coin toss and resulting first half and second half kickoff choices, I wanted to ask about another unusual rule.

Is it true that where your flag is pulled, you are down, regardless of the position of the ball? In our game against Diesel, there were several 3rd and short or 4th and short situations where we just had our QB rush up the middle after the snap, holding the ball out in front of him to break the plane of the 1st down. At least once or twice, his flag was pulled and dropped short of the 1st down while his hands and ball were clearly over the line.

We mentioned this, and the refs said that the position of the ball didn`t matter..only where the flag was pulled. We weren`t aware of this, and this is contrary to any football rule (flag or tackle) that we have seen before, so can anyone confirm that this is what the rule is really supposed to be? Or were the refs mistaken?

the rule is

May 07, 2008
7:57 AM
; 
down where the flag is pulled, not the ball. this is also true for touchdowns you can`t stick the ball over the line and expect it to be called a touchdown.



Rules Guy.

May 07, 2008
8:14 AM
; 
Just like what "the rule is" said....you are down and the ball is marked where your flag is pulled. There is no stretching the ball over the line.

ref

May 07, 2008
8:53 AM
; 
down where the flag is pulled and not where you have the ball.

hooker

May 07, 2008
12:38 PM
; 
According to the refs at Hook Rd. It`s down where your flag is pull. You also need both flags across the line to get a first down/touchdown.

They`ve been pretty good with explaininng and enforcing this.

Practice Squad
asst coach



May 07, 2008
12:40 PM
; 
I`d say that wasn`t called at Baron Cameron correctly either.

© 2009-2025 leaguehouse.com