player
Apr 13, 2008 6:58 PM | | ;
|
If it is fourth down and you are decidin whether to kick or go for it - a timeout was called.We told the ref we wanted to kick , but he said that we mentioned to go for it before the timeout was called and therefore , we had to go for it.Doesn`t this eliminate the purpose of a timeout ? Is that the rule , now ? We played through it , but if that is a rule change , teams need to know.
|
| |
|
to player
Apr 13, 2008 7:12 PM | |
rule changed
Apr 13, 2008 8:08 PM | | ; |
they changed that rule this season. you can not call a time out to change your call on the field
| |
|
cry
Apr 13, 2008 8:23 PM | | ; |
who cares? you scored anyway. you just couldn`t get the 2pt conversion or get a stop on D.
| |
|
correction
Apr 13, 2008 8:38 PM | | ; |
No we did not score and nobody was crying.The opposing team was just as surprised as we were .Just asking a question , so stop trying to start trash.Loser !
| |
|
wow
Apr 13, 2008 9:25 PM | | ; |
dang he brought out the L word...
| |
|
player
Apr 13, 2008 9:30 PM | | ; |
When we played about 2 weeks ago our team told they ref we were going for 2 then we changed our minds and said field goal and he told us we had to use a timeout to change our decision. So I guess it depends on the ref.
| |
|
true
Apr 13, 2008 10:09 PM | | ; |
Seems like different rules with different refs.I like the "it`s not my call " statement when there is an obvious penalty , but the ref doesn`t call it.
| |
|
true
Apr 13, 2008 10:12 PM | | ; |
They still do an okay job overall.The zebras at the state tourneys are the worst.Maybe next year we should bring our own refs !!!
| |
|
Practice Squad asst coach | 
|
Apr 13, 2008 10:31 PM | | ; |
Hey cry,
No one our team asked that question.
| |
|
It`s just q uestion
Apr 14, 2008 8:27 AM | | ; |
It happened a few times , yesterday and we need confirmation if it will be a consistant rule.
| |
|
IDEA
Apr 14, 2008 9:24 AM | | ; |
If you declare to go for it on 4th down or whatever but then want to change your mind... to fied goal or punt.. If its DO-ABLE !!! just simply take a false start penalty.. it will set you back 5-yds BUT the good thing is 1. you will have to re-declare what you want to do to the ref(chaneg your mind) and you will not lose a down or a timeout... Just a thought.
| |
|
not a bad idea
Apr 14, 2008 9:30 AM | | ; |
Thats a pretty good idea.
| |
|
confusion
Apr 14, 2008 11:14 AM | | ; |
I think the referees actually huddled together to render that decision, so apparently there is need for clarification regardless of whether or not the call was correct.
| |
|
True
Apr 14, 2008 11:21 AM | | ; |
It is not clear across the board and it changes the flow of the game.What if someone from the opposing team says go for it and the ref thinks it is coming from the team that actually wants to punt.Now you can`t call a timeout to get it straight.I think they should not have changed this rule.It does not make sense.A timeout is used to : 1.Stop the clock 2. change personnel 3.Discuss/change the next play
| |
|
Referee
Apr 14, 2008 12:41 PM | | ; |
Rule 6 Section 3. Scrimmage Kicks ARTICLE 2. When a scrimrnage kick is to be made, the kicking team must announce it to the referee before the ball is declared ready for play. After such an announcement, the kick must be attempted. No Rushing.
| |
|
Referee
Apr 14, 2008 12:45 PM | | ; |
Also here is the link.
http://www.usffa.org/rulebook.htm
| |
|
just watcing
Apr 14, 2008 3:26 PM | | ; |
stop blaming the zebras they don`t play (miss flags, throw ints. )
| |
|
thought
Apr 14, 2008 3:33 PM | | ; |
A time out has nothing to do with pulling flags or throwing INT`s .This has to do with the mental part of the game !!!! Making adjustments or changing your mind to go for it or punt. Duh !!!!!!
| |
|
to thought
Apr 14, 2008 5:45 PM | | ; |
again stop blaming a call non-call or a rule interp. on the zebras. read the rule book and on mon. everyone will talk about how they did or didnot execute. DUH!!!!!!!!!!! You sound like a NFL coach blaming everyone starting with the zebras next it will be the other team did something illegal excues, excuse, excuses. must play in the c or d leaque. Play in the A leaque and stop crying or Rob and Tom did something wrong and cost you a game
| |
|
Answer
Apr 15, 2008 8:30 AM | | ; |
All we need is clarification of the rule.There is no blaming in this whole thread , so I don`t know where that came from.There is inconsistency in the call depending where you play.Not the refs fault, but it needs to be settled before we get too far into the season.
| |
|
|