Money
Apr 10, 2008 6:10 PM | | ;
|
Can you or can`t you stiff arm? The rule book says you CAN stiff arm (no flag guarding of course) but the ref told me to watch the stiff arm on a couple of plays. So what`s the deal?
|
| |
|
playa
Apr 10, 2008 6:23 PM | | ; |
what rule book are you reading?
| |
|
the
Apr 10, 2008 7:14 PM | | ; |
Stiff arming are you serious?? It`s flag
| |
|
Coyote
Apr 10, 2008 9:17 PM | | ; |
It`s a flag. I got called for it last year.
| |
|
money
Apr 10, 2008 9:41 PM | | ; |
thanks coyote. hey "the" don`t forget your midol! Stiff arming?? booo hooo!! but, but...it`s flaaaaag. Holy crap.
| |
|
money
Apr 10, 2008 9:45 PM | | ; |
Another question that`s not clear: If your flag gets pulled by a defender and you don`t have the ball, but then you catch the ball, are you down where you catch it? or does someone have to one hand touch you?
I ask because if your flag gets pulled or falls off and you are down where you gain posession, then why doesn`t everyone just pull the WR/RB`s flag before they get the ball so if they DO catch it, then they are down there and can`t advance.
Hope that makes sense.
| |
|
true
Apr 11, 2008 8:47 AM | | ; |
yeah i`ve had my flag pulled a couple times while going up for a ball...that needs to be a penalty or i should be allowed to advance with 1 flag.
| |
|
penalty
Apr 11, 2008 9:40 AM | | ; |
Yeah, can`t do that; it`s called deflagging. Atleast I believe that if the ref sees you do it then you`ll get penalized for it!
| |
|
player
Apr 11, 2008 9:44 AM | | ; |
If your flag is pulled and you don`t have the ball it is a penalty. It`s called deflaging. Some refs will call it and others will not. If your flag falls off and you have the ball you are down where the flag hit the ground. If your flag falls off before you get the ball.... I`m not sure b/c I`ve seen it called two ways. 1. down as soon as you touch the ball. 2. or you become an ineligable receiver. I think it`s 1 though.
| |
|
Question
Apr 11, 2008 9:57 AM | | ; |
this rule needs more clarification.Our QB gets deflagged behind the line of scrimmage on almost every play.When we do a flea flicker or a double pass and our QB gets the ball - he gets called down.However, we have seen teams have the same thing happen and the play is allowed to continue.When we asked the ref , he said that the play can continue as long as it is behind the line of scrimmage and the deflagged player does not advance the ball.In other instances we are told you have to touch the player.I guess we need to ask the refs before each game , since there is no definate/consistent ruling.
| |
|
miller lite refs
Apr 11, 2008 10:16 AM | | ; |
yeah some of these refs don`t know whats going on. they need to enforce rules like these. i asked one to explain to me how he interpreted "holding" and what he showed me was exactly what i was doing (yet he called me for holding because the guy was complaining?)
| |
|
lol @
Apr 11, 2008 10:57 AM | | ; |
Miller light refs! Your right though. There have been some instances where a player will cry a case, and the yellow flag will be thrown because of the plea. If you ask me there`s definitely some Miller Lite in the stands!
| |
|
Another Question
Apr 11, 2008 2:36 PM | |
damn right
Apr 11, 2008 3:01 PM | | ; |
i wish. it should be. or at least downfield blocking.
| |
|
Head Officical HR H LF Fields
Apr 11, 2008 3:50 PM | | ; |
Information: There are two different organizations officiating IFFL league. One group officiates Herndon, Hook Road and Lake Fairfax and the 2nd group officiates the other fields. In order to help the groups get it right please ID the field you are playing at. Thank You Flag removal question: RULE: Rule 9 sec 1 art 2-9 Pulling or removing a flag from an offensive player without the ball by a defensive player INTENTIONALLY. Penalty 10 yards If a flag is pulled from the QB “not intentionally” and he is throwing the ball to someone else and then that person throws the ball back to original QB who only has one flag the QB is down at that spot.
STIFF ARM Question: Rule: 9 sec 4 art 2 The offensive team shall be prohibited from obstructing an opponent with extended hand or arm. This includes the use of a “stiffarm” extended to ward off an opponent……PENALTY 10 yards. I hope this helps Thank You
| |
|
stiff arm
Apr 11, 2008 4:01 PM | | ; |
10 yards from the spot of the foul? or 10 yards after the play?
| |
|
shout out
Apr 11, 2008 4:11 PM | | ; |
The crew that worked Lake Fairfax this past Monday night is the best in the league.
| |
|
One more question . .
Apr 11, 2008 4:40 PM | | ; |
Are you allowed to pick up that new stick the refs use for the line of scrimmage and whack the guy trying to get away with a stiff arm?
| |
|
ha ha ha
Apr 11, 2008 4:48 PM | | ; |
Ha ha ha ok I seriously laughed out loud at that comment.
| |
|
Head Official H LF HR
Apr 11, 2008 5:20 PM | | ; |
to stiff arm 10 yds from point of foul
| |
|
hey
Apr 11, 2008 5:44 PM | | ; |
in the manasas league u can stiff arm and they have down feild blocking
| |
|
to hey
Apr 12, 2008 10:25 AM | | ; |
then go play in manasas
| |
|
Manassas
Apr 12, 2008 12:33 PM | | ; |
As a whole is kinda bush league.
| |
|
HUH?
Apr 12, 2008 5:22 PM | | ; |
If a flag is pulled from the QB “not intentionally” and he is throwing the ball to someone else and then that person throws the ball back to original QB who only has one flag the QB is down at that spot.
Who is pulling flags unintentionally, they are hard enough to snag off someone running full speed I don`t think it`s happening on accident.
| |
|
Head Officile H LF H
Apr 12, 2008 6:24 PM | | ; |
To HUH... I was answering a question from "QUESTION 4/11"
| |
|
|