Need Help!!!!
Apr 23, 2007 12:35 PM | | ;
|
I was wondering if you season vets could help me out? We had a couple of calls this weekend that I wasnt really sure of and thought nothing of it until after the fact. If you guys can help me out i`d appreciate it.
1) Is a player down when his knee touches the ground or if the ball touches the groud or both?
We had an incidednt where the runner was cutting and fell to one knee and hand while craddling the ball with the other hand. He was allowed to get up and continue his run. The ref said that the ball never touched the ground. If that is the case, then are the receivers or DBs allowed to dive for the ball and if the ball doesnt touch the ground they are allowed to get up and run?
2) Can a receiver be stripped of the ball for an INT when the reception is made? I think its a grey area if the receiver bobbles the ball and both players are fighting for the ball. But if the receiver clearly has the ball, starts to turn and at the same time the defender reaches around to grab it away from the receiver is that allowed? If that is the case, then why are we told to run with the ball in front of us so our arms dont accidentaly guard the flags? If a player is running with the ball out in front, can`t a defender coe by and bat it down or pull the ball away? The ruling this weekend was that the defender was allowed to rip the ball away for the INT.
We just want to be clear on the rules so we can take advantage of the situation next time.
Thanks in advance
|
| |
|
My thought
Apr 23, 2007 12:45 PM | | ; |
Once you hit the ground with a knee you are down, same thing if you drop a pitch, punt or kickoff. You can not get up and run after a diving catch.
It has always been that you can not strip the ball from another team or play the ball if someone is running with it out. It should have been a penality on the defense.
If the ball is bobbled and there is no possession then it is up from grabs.
A defensive player can not strip the ball from a runner.
| |
|
my take on it
Apr 23, 2007 12:47 PM | | ; |
The first one is easy. If your knee, elbow or the ball hits the ground, you`re down. Hands are ok.
The second question is trickier, from what I understand, you can strip the ball as long as you don`t "impede the runner".
| |
|
Good god
Apr 23, 2007 12:51 PM | | ; |
Why isn`t this all written down?
I think the Ref blew #1 obviously.
| |
|
agree
Apr 23, 2007 12:52 PM | | ; |
With my take on it. I thought you could strip it as long as you don`t impede.
| |
|
More importantly...
Apr 23, 2007 12:59 PM | | ; |
Where do you play? and who are those refs so that we may avoid them in the future?
| |
|
Sef 81
Apr 23, 2007 2:08 PM | | ; |
I was told by a ref that you can strip the ball if you don`t impede the runner, but 9 out of 10 times you would get called for a penalty.
| |
|
Duff Beer
Apr 23, 2007 2:10 PM | | ; |
From my understanding there is no stripping the ball...period. Doesn`t matter if you impede or not. If the defense does so, it is supposed to be a penalty.
| |
|
help!!!
Apr 23, 2007 2:27 PM | | ; |
We play at BC... The refs were fine it wasnt a biggie... people make mistakes and bad calls are made.. Just look at the NFL.. I just want to clear things up so we can take advantage of it and possibly strip someone else the next time.. :)
As far as the knee down incident, I even asked the ref why he wasnt ruled down bc his knees clearly rested on the ground. The ref said the ball didnt touch the ground. :(
So let me get this straight, if a qb is running, I can bat the ball down or try and wrestle it away from him without being called roughing the passer???
Our receiver caught the ball on the 3 yard line and started to turn to the EZ. The defender reached around and grabbed and yanked the ball from his arms. The ref called it an INT. game over...
| |
|
Help!!
Apr 23, 2007 2:40 PM | | ; |
Thanks for everyones take on the matter. I`m just looking for a clear cut answer. Maybe Rob or Tom can chime in.
1) are you down if your knee is down but the ball never touches the ground? (y/n)
2) Can a ball be stripped away from a runner, qb, wr, te, lineman, or anyone who has possesion of the ball? (y/n)
thanks
| |
|
suggestion
Apr 23, 2007 2:41 PM | | ; |
I would suggest to e-mail the league commissioner(s) (just click on the "contact us" tab on the left) to ask them this question. They will be able to give you a better idea as to what the rule is and how it should be called. They will also be able to report any officiating errors.
I do believe the runner should be down when his knee goes down.
as for the INT call - it`s a subjective call by the ref who has to determine if the WR definitely had possession of the ball and it was an actual attempt to strip the ball. If the WR caught it, turned, and somehow the ball slipped out and the defender caught it, that would be an INT.
| |
|
me again
Apr 23, 2007 2:45 PM | | ; |
An example of stripping without impeding is if the QB fake a pitch on the option and you knock the ball out of his hand. Of course if you hit his hand or arm it`s a penalty. In your case, it appears to be a blown call. But I wasn`t there.
Trying to "bat the ball down" is one of the most common mistake made by inexperience players. More often than not, it`s going to be a roughing the passer penalty. Go for the flag instead.
| |
|
Helpful
Apr 23, 2007 3:09 PM | | ; |
#1)
As defined in Rule #4 http://www.usffa.org/usffa_rulebook.htm
Ball is dead when it hits the ground or any part of the body besides the hands and foot touches the ground.
Ref blew it and showed he didn`t understand the rules
#2)
No rules regarding "stripping" but since there`s rules about not allowing someone to bat the ball from a QB`s arms I would think there`s something simular.
I hope Tom is reading this and have answers and clarifications.
| |
|
HEAD OFFICIAL
Apr 23, 2007 7:45 PM | | ; |
BALL DECLARED DEAD.... RULE #4 sec 1 art.3b "When any part of the Ball Carrier`s person other then a hand or foot touches the ground."
NEED HELP…. what field and date were you playing at???
Stripping...AS SEF 81 stated.. A ref told me that you could strip the ball if you don’t impede the runner, but 9 out of 10 times you would get called for impeding the runner. As I have officiated in the states and nationals and I have seen this happen to where a runner got "cleanly stripped of the ball" and the officials agreed there was NO impeding the runner. It can happen but rare! You have to be there to see first hand. ALL JUDGEMENT. RULE 9 sec 4 art.6 STATES... "The defensive player shall not hold, grasp, or obstruct forward progress of a ball carrier when in the act of removing a flag." You could interpret stripping as NOT allowed as you are Not going for the flags as stated in rule 9, but are you?
| |
|
to head official BC 4/22/07
Apr 23, 2007 10:24 PM | | ; |
thanks for the clarification... I guess the calls are judgemental and you would of had to have been there. The receiver had his back to the defender when the defender when the ball was caught. At that instance the defender moved to the side and grabbed a handful of ball and arm almost lifting our receiver. No attempt was made to grab the flag. THe player clearly intended on stripping the ball away because the catch was made inside the 5 yard line.
The other answer and ruling is clear cut. The players knees were down but the ref must have missed it. When asked the ref said the ball never touched the ground. If he would have said he never saw the knee touch, then I would have been cool with it.
Not trying to make a big deal over this.. It happened, game over, no worries. I just want to make sure my team is clear on the subject for future games.
| |
|
|